Thursday, February 27, 2014

1022 Evergreen Place by Debbie Macomber


Feb 27, 2014 

Read from February 23 to 27, 2014

I didn’t like this 10th installment of the Cedar Cove Series as much as books 1-9 in the series. The storylines were getting repetitive. Examples are marriages in less than 6 months of meeting one another. The most ridiculous one was Lync and Lori Bellamy. They got married within a few weeks of meeting one another.
Another thing that bothered me was the unplanned pregnancies of 7 of the characters, 5 of which were out of wedlock. It gets old after a while.
Then there were the situations of the characters meeting one another and pushing each other away to come back later on as a couple.
I liked the characters more in the first 6 books of the series. Now there were too many being introduced and it wasn’t easy to remember their situations because of the choppiness of the chapters. It would have been easier to read all about a couple’s situation first before moving on to the next couple's situation and going back and forth between their relationships. Does that make sense?
There were 3 characters that I absolutely did not like. Jolene was one of them because she was a spoiled teenage brat. Then there were Leonard Bellamy , who was too manipulative with his daughter’s happiness and David Rhoades who was a stalker and obnoxious mean person.
I will be finishing the series with book 11 and 12 since there are cliffhangers and unanswered questions. I need to finish them by July 19th since season 2 of The Cedar Cove Series will be televised on The Hallmark Channel. I am going to take a break though and go on to other books before going back to book 11 and 12.

Friday, February 14, 2014

92 Pacific Boulevard by Debbie Macomber


Feb 14, 2014  

Read from February 05 to 14, 2014

There 12 books in The Cedar Cove Series. Each address belongs to one character or couple and the main story or mystery revolves around him, her or them while all the other characters continue to make an appearance and continue forward with their lives. From when the series began most of the characters are the same although their lives have changed. This book deals with Sheriff Troy Davis and Faith Beckwith who was his first love but due to circumstances they ended up happily married to other people. Both are now widowed. A misunderstanding took place in the last book and they are still working through the fall-out plus Troy is trying to solve the case of the 25 year old skeleton found in a cave by two teenagers as well as looking for the person responsible for vandalizing Faith's rental home. Olivia is still fighting cancer and Ben continues to have problems and to be disappointed by his grown son David.


These characters feel like my friends since this book is the ninth book in the series. I feel like I have been drawn into the character's lives.

The only issue I have is that Troy and Faith's relationship has been too drawn out between the last book and this book. It was getting old already. This installment was suppose to focus on them, but the other relationships were also delved into just as much as Troy and Faith's courtship.

Each book in the series does introduce new characters and their situations and relationships with one another. Sometimes they are a good addition and sometimes they are not. The situation that was the most ridiculous and unrealistic was when Linc decided to get married to some woman he helped on the side of the road. That woman was Lori who very recently broke off her engagement with a man who turned out to be a thief. She asks Linc to marry her almost immediately after meeting him. Even Linc is in shock over her proposal since he had no interest in ever getting married. I assume that in the next book of the series, it will be revealed as to why she wanted this hasty marriage.

This book was not my favorite in the series.

Next,I will be going on to book 10 of the series. I need to follow up with the cliffhangers that were left in book 9.

Monday, February 3, 2014

8 Sandpiper Way by Debbie Macomber


Feb 03,2014

Read from January 31 to February 03, 2014

This is the 8th book in The Cedar Cove Series. In order to get into the lives of the characters, the books should be read in order. Each book builds on the previous books. The reader learns more about the characters' lives. This book focused on the lives of Pastor Flemmming and his wife, Emily. We learn of their financial issues and how their marriage was almost destroyed. We also learn more about Olivia Griffin, family court judge, and her health issues which are very sad. We learn more about Sheriff Troy Davis and his issues which will be developed more in the next book of the series. Bobby Polgar and his wife Teri play a bigger role in this book than previously. Some of the characters that were introduced in the prior books are also part of this book. It was interesting to see how their lives are progressing. This book introduced two new characters, Shaw and Tanni. I am interested to see how their relationship develops.

This book definitely kept my interest up and I was able to read it quickly even though it had 370 pages . I like how the author left cliffhangers about five of the couples. It makes the reader want to go right onto the next book in the series which I will be doing